Independent | Innovative | Inspiring

LIBRARY
SEARCH KIM CATALOG
ELECTRONIC RESOURCES
CALIFORNIA WESTERN EXAMS
PUBLISHING OPPORTUNITIES
NEW LIBRARY ACQUISITIONS
PROBLEM-SOLVING BIBLIOGRAPHY
STUDENT COMPUTER LAB
BROIDA ROOM
LIBRARY NEWS
LIBRARY INFORMATION
CONTACT LIBRARY

 

Circulation Rules - California Western
Circulation Rules

All material leaving the Library must be properly charged out at the Circulation Desk.

  • Students are required to present their barcoded California Western I.D. card when checking out materials.
  • Attorneys, CWSL graduates, and other persons authorized to use the collection will need to present their California Western Library Patron card.

If you are eligible to use the CWSL library and do not have a Library Patron card yet, you may obtain one at the Circulation Desk. This card will be used both for checking out materials and for access to the building.


Two-Hour Checkouts

Reserve Room books and photocopies, all of the Library's reporters, codes, law reviews or journals, reference materials, and items from sets of four volumes or more circulate for a two-hour period only. If no one else has requested use of the material, it may be renewed up to three times.

We do allow patrons to renew by telephone. However, if you do not talk directly to the Circulation Desk Assistant you must leave a return phone number in your voice message in case the material has been recalled or cannot be renewed again. Leaving a voice message does not stop the process of fines accruing, if applicable.

Reserve Room items and other two-hour items incur a fine of $1.00 per hour for all patrons. If the item has been recalled and is overdue, the fine increases to $5.00 per hour.

Some Reserve items may circulate overnight. Overnight circulation begins two hours before closing; ordinarily that would be at 8:56 p.m. These items are to be returned to the library by 8 a.m. the following morning. No weekend checkouts (i.e., Friday to Sunday, or Saturday to Monday) are allowed.


Long-Term Check Outs

Many of the treatises in the collection may be checked out for longer than two hours. However, primary materials, journals, and items from sets of four volumes or more do not circulate for over two hours. Please ask the Circulation Desk Assistant to help you when checking out these items. A California Western Student I.D. or Library Patron Card must be presented to check out materials.

  • CWSL STUDENTS
    May check out long term materials for a renewable 30 day period. Overdue fines for such items are 25 per day (for recalled items, the fine increases to $5.00 per day), up to a $25.00 maximum per item.

  • CWSL GRADUATES
    May check out long term materials for a renewable two-week period. Overdue fines for such items are 25 per day (for recalled items, the fine increases to $5.00 per day), up to a $25.00 maximum per item. When a graduate accrues a total of $25.00 in fines, library privileges will be suspended until the bill is settled .

  • ATTORNEYS
    May check out long term materials for a renewable two-week period. Overdue fines for such items will be $1.00 per day (for recalled items, the fine increases to $5.00 per day), up to a $25.00 maximum per item. When an attorney accrues a total of $25.00 in fines, library privileges will be suspended until the bill is settled.


In Library Use

All books not located in the Reserve Room may be used freely in the Library, and there is no time limit on their use. However, we ask that courtesy and consideration prevail to make the books easily accessible to any who might need them.

Books will be reshelved during the next shelving shift if left unattended. If it is necessary to hold a pile of books on a table or carrel while completing research please be sure to place a "Do Not Reshelve" sign on the books with the date and your name. These notices can be obtained from the Circulation Desk and they must be renewed daily. Please reshelve your books on the 1st and 2nd floor.


Overdue and Fine Notices

Students will be notified of overdue, fines and bills via their student internet address. No other notification is sent. Students are responsible for checking their email for Library notices on a regular basis. Non-students will be mailed overdue notices, fines and bills to the address submitted for the Library Patron card.

Overdue fines and bills are to be paid at the Administration Office on the second floor of the Library. At the end of each semester, student bills of $25.00 or more are sent to the Business Office for collection. After being sent over, the bill will not be reduced or renegotiated by staff. Notification of grades will be withheld until the bill is settled.

If it is necessary for the Library to order a replacement of an overdue or lost item, the patron will be charged the current replacement cost of the item plus $15.00 for Library processing (return of the overdue material does not negate these charges).