Your browser is out of date. It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites.
Learn how to update your browser.
Access to our campus and services is currently modified due to the coronavirus public health crisis. For the latest updates on evolving COVID-19 policies and resources for our campus community, click here.
Trial skills team in the moot court room

The California Western Law Firm Challenge is a community-based alumni engagement campaign that helps renew the bond between the law school and its alumni, and promotes California Western within the legal community.

Any law firm or legal agency employing two or more California Western alumni is eligible to participate and all are challenged with the goal of achieving 100 percent participation. Those who succeed in meeting this ambitious goal receive special recognition from the law school.

2018 Results

Thanks to the generosity of our participants and the support of their firms and agencies, this year's challenge was a great success. A total of 13 firms and agencies participated (with 9 achieving 100 percent participation) and raised more than $3,400 in support of the law school’s Annual Fund.

To each and every one of our participating alumni in this year's challenge, thank you, and congratulations on your outstanding achievements!

2018 Champions

Heavyweight Division (21 or more alumni employed)

Office of the San Diego County District Attorney

Office of the San Diego County District Attorney

Team Members:
Clayton Carr (Co-captain)
Agustin Peña
Minaz Bhayani
Jessica Coto
Jorge DelPortillo
Derek Snow Grilz
Kristi Hein (Gill)
Annette Irving
Christopher Michael Lawson
Jerrilyn Malana
Nereida Melgarejo 
Dana Elizabeth Palmer
Valerie Ryan
Kimberly Scott
Sara Staninger
Leonard Nguyen Trinh
Taylor Williams
Anna Winn
Paige Woodward

Middleweight Division (11 to 20 alumni employed)

100 Percent Alumni Participation

Higgs, Fletcher & Mack

Team Members:
Rahil Swigart (Captain)
Rebecca E. Briskin
Roger W. Clayton
Gerissa S. Conforti
Joseph A. Gonnella
Michael J. Hoisington
Scott J. Ingold
Rachel R. James
Joseph J. Kagan
Regina Knoll
Kathryn A. Martin
Amanda McCarty
Susan A. Mercure
Rachel E. Moffitt
John W. Nielsen
Stephen T. Pelletier
Charles F. Reidelbach
Timothy D. Waters
Justine Wong

Bantamweight Division (2 to 10 alumni employed)

100 Percent Alumni Participation

Casey Gerry Schenk Francavilla Blatt & Penfield LLP

Hyde & Swigart

Team Members:
Gayle Blatt (Captain)
Wendy Behan
Angela Jae Chun 
Jillian L. Ferrario Hayes
Adam B. Levine
Thomas Penfield
Meagan Verschueren

Daley & Heft LLP (Rookie of the Year)

Team Members:
Shari Weintraub (Captain)
Garrett Smee

Goldman Law Firm

Team Members:
Ronald Goldman (Captain)
Andrew Goldman
Julia Goldman
Kevin Kelly

Haeggquist & Eck, LLP


Team Members:
Alreen Haeggquist (Captain)
Aaron M. Olsen
Robert Prine 
Jenna Rangel

Hickman & Robinson, LLP

RJS Law Firm

Team Members:
Robert Robinson (Captain)
Kyle E. Yaege

RJS Law Firm

RJS Law Firm

Team Members:
Chandara Diep (Co-captain)
Marisol Swadener (Co-captain)

Ruyle and Ruyle

Team Members:
Chad Ruyle (Co-captain)
David Ruyle (Co-captain)

Wingert Grebing Brubaker & Juskie LLP

Wingert Grebing Brubaker & Juskie LLP

Team Members:
Corey C. Garrard (Captain)
Charles R. Grebing
Stephen C. Grebing
Mallory Holt
Andrew A. Servais
Amy L. Simonson
Christopher W. Todd
Colin H. Walshok 

We also received generous alumni participation from the following:

San Diego County Office of the Public Defender
Captain: Paige Stevens